2018

The new year ushers in with it a host of platitudes designed to inspire change, to elicit a fresh start from each of us flawed humans meandering along and muddling through our own personal journeys.  But the turn of a page of a calendar cannot command growth, an arbitrarily chosen date is not where change dwells. Change comes when it comes, heedless of any particular month, any particular day; and it’s what we do next, how we respond that truly determines whether good will come, whether we will learn and ultimately grow.

It is tempting to hop on the bandwagon of our collective notion of new year, new start, but I won’t. I can’t. Because I also know that the dismissal of one year also has the potential to dismiss all of its lessons.

So, as 2018 looms, I am carrying 2017 with me. It’s tucked into a pocket, but I am keeping my hand on it, to remind me how truly lucky I am.

IMG_20171227_135842

 

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .