The Cost of Rising

IMG_9200He’s happily oblivious to the angst I am feeling right now, and that is how it should be.

This was a week that required more than the usual dose of advocacy he needs, deserves.

And it was a week of unexpected challenges.

Challenges that necessarily resulted in changes.

Changes that made him cry. Sit in the back seat of my car and weep.

Tears that pulled me apart, left me wondering what would have been the effect had I stayed silent.

Questioning how I show my love, my support, my devotion.

Wondering if I should just slip into a mass of acceptance and apathy.

Just let things go.

Let things go so my child doesn’t cry.

Don’t stand up because it could knock my child down.

Fall down seven times, get up eight.”

And I realize without the tears, there can be no growth.

Without the fall, none of us ever gets the chance to rise.

3 thoughts on “The Cost of Rising

  1. A conscientious, loving parent, does what needs to be done. Does what is right for the long term, persists against all odds, and for whatever satisfaction conscience offers, finds that is enough.
    Peace,

  2. I know I am relatively late to this post, but I just wanted to say that you ARE doing something right-not just with Edgar, but with all of your boys.

    On Edgar’s “off” days (everyone has their “off” days), I think one of the best and most rewarding things for you and your husband to say to him (which I’m sure you guys both already do) is that you’re proud of him for how far he’s come. You’d be amazed at how much those four little words-“I’m proud of you”-can pick up someone’s confidence in themselves every once in a while. 🙂 Sometimes it’s the small victories that mean a lot.

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

