You Can Take the Boy Out of Italy

I look at these pictures, and I find myself audibly catching my breath. I think of what a trip of this magnitude must mean to someone on the cusp of middle school, for a boy who will soon be learning about all the places he just saw, how much more his social studies, geography, and literature classes are going to mean, of the anchors he will now have.

The world just got bigger and–paradoxically–much smaller.

He will never be the same.

Ever.

This was not a tour. Not a vacation.

It was an adventure . . . and the beginning of his education.

IMG_6149

IMG_6234

IMG_6260

IMG_6265

IMG_6288

IMG_6325

IMG_6454

IMG_6609

IMG_6644

IMG_6653

IMG_6707

IMG_6781

IMG_6828

IMG_6943

IMG_7013

IMG_7101

3 thoughts on “You Can Take the Boy Out of Italy

  1. This is an investment! Steinbeck’s characters lives changed after discovering THE PEARL, Oscar will relate everything to before and after Italy I–his first trip, for he will return, many times.
    Peace,
    len

    • I am so glad the Oscar was able to take such a great adventure. This will stay with him for ever. You are right about knowing first hand when he starts to study geography. I enjoyed the trips I took overseas these past years. Oscar and the other boys will have many new experiences in their lives.

  2. What an incredible history experience for Oscar. I would love to sit in the back of his class and listen to his contribution when the subject of Ancient Rome / Italy is discussed. May know more than the teacher?

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

