Bill

DSC_0023“Listen, Bill, I think I told you the last time you called.  I can’t hire you back.  I wanted to give you a chance.  I feel for you, I really do.  But you broke my laptop.  Then you said you couldn’t pay for it.  So I had to file an insurance claim.  Bill, I can’t run a business like that.  If I have to keep filing claims to pay for the things you break, my rates will go up.  I can’t do it. “

Pause.

“Bill, you really need to get some help.  You’re having a tough time right now.  I’m not the one you should be turning to.  You might need to talk to a professional.”

Pause.

“Bill, I’m going to have to hang up now.  I can’t continue this conversation.  Please don’t call me again.”

This happened in our local grocery store.  At the deli counter.   In front of people.  Mystified, perplexed people.

My nine-year-old.

On a fake cell phone.

We don’t know who Bill is or the nature of his apparent troubles.

We surely don’t know what kind of business our son is running or why he needs a laptop and an insurance policy.

What we do know is that the Stop & Shop deli may never be the same.

4 thoughts on “Bill

  1. Practicing his social skills for when he is older and has to deal with people like Bill, and lord knows they are out there 🙂

  2. That was sooo funny! Kids say and do the darndest things! I needed a good laugh 🙂

    Brittneystidbits.wordpress.com

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

