Steering His Course in Health

2013-10-18Give a man health and a course to steer, and he’ll never stop to trouble about whether he’s happy or not.”  –George Bernard Shaw

I wish last fall when the school picture on the left came home and I looked deep into my son’s tired eyes, at his strained smile, I could have had a vision of the picture on the right.

I wish I could have known that just one year later his exhausted but still beautiful face would be transformed–that his eyes would brighten, his smile turn genuine.

I wish I could have known for certain that everything we were doing to ensure his health, his happiness, was right–that no matter the challenges, he was going to emerge on the other side of it all stronger.

But I didn’t have that vision.  I didn’t know.

I only believed.

4 thoughts on “Steering His Course in Health

  1. I know those eyes all too well, and the half smile, the seizures have calmed down with med, but I still knew she wasn’t sleeping well. Well we found out today why…now throw in central sleep apnea, My poor peanut just can’t get a break.

  2. Every step in faith starts with the belief in something, and your post hit home with one statement … But I didn’t have that vision. I didn’t know. I only believed.

    Thank you for sharing this, I needed this Today 🙂 x

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

