She Said “Had”

IMG_0773This moment wasn’t supposed to come.

Or, at the very least, if it were, it shouldn’t have come for another five or six years.

But instead it came today.

Today at 4:25 PM in an eight-by-eight-foot examination room at Rhode Island Hospital.

The neurologist who has been by my son’s side since she met him in the emergency room after his first grand mal seizure in October 2011, looked at me and used the past tense to describe his epilepsy.

She said “had.”

Had . . . as in no longer.

It’s her theory, based on the substantial medical evidence she has been collecting, that he had it, and as quickly as it came, it went–faster than anyone could ever have anticipated, but gone nonetheless.  She said children can and do grow out of it–though usually not this fast.  But here we are.

So, we are going to move toward eliminating his anti-seizure medicine altogether.

And with a little luck and a whole lot of good intentions, had will be our new reality.

And tonight. for the first time in my life, I finally and completely understand what is meant by the sublime.

19 thoughts on “She Said “Had”

  1. OMG!!!! Thank You for this good news…..I really needed to hear this today!!!! I will say an extra prayer and thank the good doctors and nurses who helped you through this!!!!

  2. I am so happy for Edgar, and for you and Don! It is amazing how one one-syllable word, with only 3 letters, and in the past tense, can change our world!

  3. This is the best news ever for me, your family,
    and mostly our sweet Edgar! I have always felt awful for the call I had to make that day, but am so happy for this news! Keep the faith, and just take one day at a time. Hugs to all!

  4. A friend posted this on her FB page and I am in tears of joy for you. I have a special needs son so I know how hard it is sometimes, as a parent of a child with medical issues. I am so very happy for you, happy HAPPY HAPPY.

  5. Now I know what that big smile is on his face for; what wonderful news. Tonight you can get some much needed rest.

  6. Am sure the dance around eggshells won’t cease, but what a relief to know some of the eggs are hard boiled and you can step on them as hard as you want and say, “There! Go be salad!”
    Peace,
    len

  7. What great news for the whole family. All my best for Edgar who “HAD” this and for the rest of his family who “HAD” to witness and live with it. HURRAY FOR ALL OF YOU.

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

