Let’s Drop the Adjectives

mother's day picMy Facebook news feed greeted me on three separate occasions with this pithy image this morning.  It’s Mother’s Day weekend, so the internet is understandably alive with these sorts of sentiments.  “Mothers are always right . . . even when they’re wrong,” “I love how we don’t even need to say out loud that I’m your favorite child,” “I child-proofed the house, but they still got in.”

And of course this one is supposed to be amusing, too–an homage the person posting it is sending to him- or herself–wink implied and understood.

But equally obvious is the fact not every mother on earth actually gave birth.  Without listing these myriad mothers and embarking on a diatribe that it is not the act of giving birth that makes someone a mother, I’ll simply suggest that on this Mother’s Day we drop the adjectives that seem to attach themselves to those who came to motherhood in other ways.

To all mothers who have devoted their lives to loving and caring for another, Happy Mother’s Day.

4 thoughts on “Let’s Drop the Adjectives

  1. My thoughts are any woman who loves a child, freely pours her heart and soul into a child, is devoted to making a difference in the life of a child is a mother in some way. I am an adoptee and I feel that my true mother is the woman who raised me. She is my adoptive mother. Now in terms of labor, the yearning for a child to love should also be considered labor. Whether of the flesh or of the heart Happy Mothers Day to all>

  2. Hmm, from what I just read should we not just undertake a movement to do away with both Mother;s Day and Father;s Day and just have “Parent Day?

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

