What My Dad Means to Me

by Oscar Farias

IMG_3026My father is very special, and he’s a great dad.  He helps me with my violin, and he knows how to play guitar, which is very helpful for my playing.  And he always talks to me before I go to sleep.  He loves to play games with me, and helps me a lot with my bike.  (Now I’m very good at it.)  He reads to me, and he’s a great person to talk to when you’re feeling down.  He’s a very good role model.  He likes to take us all to movies and to a lot of museums.  And he’s fun to go out with to a restaurant.  We eat and have dessert; and when I get to have a chocolate shake,  it’s really great.  And he helps me when I get frustrated with my LEGO sets.  He helps me with my homework.

He gives me hugs; and, of course, I know he loves me.

IMG_3005Oscar Farias is eight years old and in the third grade.  He is an avid reader and LEGO-builder.  In his spare time he studies Latin and violin and takes karate.  He hopes to contribute a weekly post to My Three Sons.  He’s too young for a Facebook page or Twitter; but you can find him here, and he’d love to hear your comments. 

15 thoughts on “What My Dad Means to Me

  1. Awesome first post Oscar. I look forward to reading more from you! (I am a friend of your Aunt Kelly and, of course, Poppop!)

  2. Dear Oscar, I was thrilled and overjoyed to see your post on the internet. I hope you remember me. I live on Cherry Street with my dog Delilah. I also walk her past your house. I use a baby stroller to hold onto when I walk her. Many thanks for e-mailing us.

  3. What a great post Oscar! You must be very proud of your Dad, he sounds very, very special. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. You made me smile and remember my Dad!

  4. Dads can never do enough for their children, nor hear or read enough how much they are loved. You have a very special Dad and the older you get the more you will love and appreciate him. Some times life events may separate you or you may have differences, but allow nothing to affect your bond with Dad, Mom, your brothers, family, and friends. Their love will be the foundation of confidence for you to be a man of distinction.
    Proud of you!
    Peace,
    len

  5. Oscar that was a great tribute to your Dad. You are truly a wonderful son. I bet both Mom and Dad as well as your brothers are proud of you! Keep up the hard work. I would love to read more of your writing.

  6. Thank you Oscar for a very special post. You are not only becoming a great reader, but also a wonderful writer (you have a great role model in your mother). You (and our family) are all very special and important to one another. I hope to always be special to you.

    Love,

    Dad

  7. What a wonderful first post Oscar, and I agree with you on your Dad. Looking forward to more post in the future.
    Poppop

  8. Oscar, your father is special and a great dad. I used to play guitar with him and we were close friends in the past. We used to talk about movies and museums and I know he is happy and proud to have a son like you. It must be nice to hear him read to you and I know it’s special for you to hear him at bedtime. Those Legos can get tricky but I know they are a lot of fun to play with! Good for you!

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

