Plenty to Do and More to Be Grateful For

I haven’t written a post in three weeks.

The reasons are many and varied and could be delineated here; but, honestly, they’re the same impediments that plague us all.  And even with the extra hour we’ll garner tonight when we set back our clocks, I find myself wishing for more.

It’s National Adoption Month.  And more than just my daily Facebook posts debunking myths about adoption, there is so much more I wish I could do.

It’s also Epilepsy Awareness Month.  And more than just highlighting our family’s journey, I wish I could shout from the rooftops all that epilepsy is and is not and the magnificent work of The Matty Fund.

My professional life is hectic, and I find myself wishing I simply had more time to linger, to talk at work.

My coursework is intense and leaves me with little time to contemplate the important ideas with which we are grappling.

And, of course, there is the rest of life–the avocations, the hobbies, the paths we pursue for the good of ourselves and others.

But it’s also November.  And I need to remind myself of all for which I am grateful–not the least of which is the fact that when my oldest son asks me to check out the comic he’s drawing, I can; that when my middle son asks me to help him create a magical amulet, I am there; that when my youngest son wants to show me his latest dance moves, I am able to stop and be completely captivated.

I am officially and unabashedly exhausted, but these beautiful young men inspire me to do more with my life than I ever thought possible.  For that, for them, I am and remain eternally grateful.

2 thoughts on “Plenty to Do and More to Be Grateful For

  1. “Do not spoil what you have by desiring what you have not; remember that what you now have was once among the things you only hoped for.”-Epicurus
    Samantha, at days end you have done your best. What more could anyone expect…even you.

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

