Knowing His Best

Last night as I tucked Edgar into bed far later than usual, he picked up one of his favorite stuffed animals–one that you would have thought had been waiting all evening for this opportunity to talk–and assumed a voice befitting the creature.  The stuffed animal asked me, “Do you know Edgar?”  I replied that I did–and very well.   The stuffed animal then inquired, “What can you tell me about him?”  As I regaled the stuffed animal (and a beaming Edgar) with his most endearing qualities, the stuffed animal then asked, “Why are some things so hard for Edgar?”

I tried to explain–to the stuffed animal, of course–that Edgar has had more challenges in just six years of life than some people have in an entire lifetime, that the medicine he has to take–not to mention epilepsy itself–affects him, and that his body does not always let him be at his best–but that the people who love him know him at his best and see his potential.

Edgar thought about this as the stuffed animal asked, “Can you always help Edgar be his best?”

Helping someone be his best–an earnest entreaty from a beautiful six-year-old boy whose body has seldom been his friend . . . an entreaty not just from this child to his mother but from everyone to everyone.

6 thoughts on “Knowing His Best

  1. The world would be a much better/happier place if we all heeded Edgar’s stuffed animal’s request! Here’s to bringing out the best in everyone we meet today! Thanks, Edgar, for your wise words!

  2. So eloquently stated and yes, we will help Edgar and all to strive to be our best and see the light in everyone.

  3. We all need help; some more than others, often in varying degrees at varied times.
    What we don’t need is prejudice and fitting square pegs into round holes or versi visa. Whatever children need we need to provide.
    Peace,
    len

  4. We must be there for all that need a little help with being their best and I feel that is the whole world. Edgar is such a caring, intense young man and with his love for everyone, they will be there to bring out his best when needed, I truly believe.

  5. Sometimes I hear a voice like your sons and I can feel the voice my grandson has. ‘wanting’ to say the same things. So thank you Edgar, for saying what is in your heart-and helping me to see ways I can support Connor with his own battle. Bless you beautiful child!

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

