Is There a Doctor in the House?

Not yet.  But soon there will be.

After surprisingly little reflection, I have made the decision to go back to school to pursue my Ph.D.

I say “surprisingly little” because truly the idea came to me without warning then became nothing short of a compulsion.  I investigated the programs available to and feasible for a full-time mother and full-time teacher, had a moment of angst over the mathematics portion of the GRE, made the necessary inquiries and requests.

And in September 2012 I will begin my first class toward a Doctor of Philosophy in Humanities at Salve Regina University.

My classes will be in the evening five minutes from my home, my work completed after my children go to bed–because even though my pursuit of this degree is inspired by them, I am determined not to have its acquisition take time away from them.

My research will combine my passion for literature with my overarching desire to examine the place adoption has held, currently holds, and will hold in our world–the world in which my children are growing, the world with which they must interact, the world they will inherit.

This research, this degree is for my three sons–a legacy I want to leave for them and for all adoptive families.

10 thoughts on “Is There a Doctor in the House?

  1. Congratulations! I have no doubt that you can crush that research! You should make the AP kids call you Dr. Hines.

  2. Like I said…..you completely amaze me Supermom! Love the connection between literature and adoption. There is no one more suited for the topic than you!

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

