A Narrow Fellow on the Walkway

“A narrow Fellow in the Grass” by Emily Dickinson

A narrow Fellow in the Grass
Occasionally rides –
You may have met Him – Did you not
His notice sudden is –
The Grass divides as with a Comb –
A spotted Shaft is seen,
And then it closes at your Feet
And opens further on –
He likes a Boggy Acre
A Floor too cool for Corn –
But when a Boy, and Barefoot
I more than once at Noon
Have passed, I thought, a Whip lash
Unbraiding in the Sun
When stooping to secure it
It wrinkled, and was gone –
Several of Nature’s People
I know and they know me –
I feel for them a transport
Of Cordiality –
But never met this Fellow
Attended or alone
Without a tighter Breathing
And Zero at the Bone.
************************************
And may I present  . . . “A Narrow Fellow on the Walkway” by Edgar Farias:
One thought on “A Narrow Fellow on the Walkway

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

