A Resolution I Can Keep

Image courtesy of Google Images

‘Tis the season to reflect on what’s working and what’s not working in our lives and make a solemn vow starting on January 1st that everything is going to be better from now on. 

It’s noble.  It’s lofty.  And, for me, it has been a largely unrealistic if not futile endeavor. 

The top new year’s resolutions tend to fall into several categories:  (1) Take better care of our bodies (eat more healthfully, stop smoking, cut down on drinking, exercise more, deal with stress effectively; (2) Take better care of our minds (go back to school, read more); (3) Take better care of our souls (spend more time with friends and family and less time in front of the computer or at work); and (4) Take better care of our planet (recycle more, buy organic, go “green”).

As I peruse this list, I see that there is plenty of room for improvement in my life.  Without delineating my myriad frailties, shortcomings, and bad habits, suffice it to say, I could stand to institute many of these.

But I won’t.  I can say that honestly and without embarrassment. 

Since becoming a parent, I have learned–more than at any other juncture in my life–that I, like all of us, am a work in progress.  I am constantly changing and (I hope!) evolving; but any changes for the better I have made in my life have stuck only when they have arisen organically–not due to a mere change in the calendar. 

So my resolutions for 2012 are as follows: To remain open to the possibility that my way is not the only way, to treat others and myself with great care, to admit when I’ve been wrong and to make amends accordingly, to breathe. 

In other words, to continue doing the very best I can. 

Happy New Year to you. 

 

2 thoughts on “A Resolution I Can Keep

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

