I Found You. You Found Me. We Became a Family.

 

They have never been this big, and they will never again be this little; and as I look at this picture, I am struck on every level of how important it is to seize the moment when you find yourself in the right place at the right time.

Life, to me, has always been this elusive combination of free choice and inexplicable luck–the trick being, of course,  to know when something or someone is going to be good for you and to grab on with abandon, to hold on with faith, and to embrace with gratitude.

The four people in this photograph have taught, inspired, and loved me more than I will ever be able to articulate but not more than I will continually endeavor to reciprocate.  

Edgar, every now and then, will whisper the following words as I tuck him into bed:  “I found you.  You found me.  We became a family.”  Luck, choice, and foresight . . . abandon, faith, and gratitude–and a moment and a life to savor.

5 thoughts on “I Found You. You Found Me. We Became a Family.

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

