Music in Me

Since Oscar declared recently that he and the violin are no more, we have been trying gingerly and unobtrusively to let him know that should he CHOOSE to go back to it, we would support that wholeheartedly.  Each time we bring it up, he lets us know that he is not interested.  Even when Edgar, his arch rival in all manner of accomplishment, announced that he might want to start taking violin, Oscar didn’t blink.

But last night he picked up a guitar.  He sat on the couch and began strumming.  He then looked at me and said, “I know what you’re thinking . . . guitar lessons for Oscar.”

So, I took the bait.  “Do you want to take lessons?”

His reply?  “No, not yet.  I’ll just play at home.  Dad can teach me.”

Then he smiled a smile that made me wonder (and not for the first time) if he were nearly six or sixteen and said, “I think there still might be a little music in me.”

You think?

We’ll wait, Oscar, for you to decide when and how you want to let your music out–it is and always will be your choice.

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

