Time to Create

Right now it is virtually silent in our house.

Oscar is playing with his new Star Wars LEGO.  Edgar is doing a puzzle.  August and Don are sleeping.

People often ask me how I have time to create this blog–when I actually have an opportunity to write.

The truth is that despite having three very young children, our house is generally far from the constant chaos one might imagine.   Of course, this doesn’t mean things are always so quiet–in fact, they often aren’t.   Young children have needs–and complaints, and opinions, and bodily functions that need to be tended to.  But more and more, though I still do the majority of my writing at night after everyone is tucked snugly into bed, I am finding that during the day everyone will often find something to do simultaneously for intervals that afford me the chance to write.  And even a ten-minute clip here or there is enough to put something down for posterity. 

I never consciously asked for this time–it has seamlessly evolved.  But that doesn’t make me any less grateful for it or for our collective ability–despite being a family of five–to sense and then give each other the space we need.  Not a bad rhythm to have achieved at such an early juncture in our journey together . . .

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

