The Power of Choice

Oscar’s losing two of his front teeth this week has understandably prompted reactions–most positive, but a few decidedly and surprisingly negative.  When I heard and heard of the less-than-kind comments, my mother haunches ignited.  But I held back the words I so wanted to say and let Oscar tell me how those comments made him feel.

He told me that most people had nice things to say–that his missing teeth were “cool,” that he looked “cute,” that his accident was (ahem) “awesome.”  Then he added, “I choose to accept those comments and not the others.”

Simple as that.

A child with self-esteem enough to reject the negative and embrace the positive and a mother nearly moved to tears by her five-year-old son’s wisdom.

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

