Lollipop, Lollipop

Every once in a while, when life is quiet and largely uneventful, I find myself saying to myself, “Hmmm . . . I wonder what the next post will be about.”   I always know in the back of my head that there will be a next post; but there are those rare times when things are incredibly quiet, subdued, and there doesn’t seem to be much to report.

And then it happens.

Inspiration.

This afternoon on the way home Edgar asked for a lollipop as a snack.  When we got home, I gave him a banana instead, complimenting myself on distracting him from his initial request and putting a healthful alternative in its place.   Two minutes later I see Edgar licking his new WALL-E robot.   Visions of lead paint horror stories swirl through my brain.

ME:  “Edgar, why are you licking WALL-E?” 

EDGAR:  “I’m not.”

ME:  “You are.  Why are you licking WALL-E?”

EDGAR:  “He tastes like a banana.”

ME:  “What do you mean ‘he tastes like a banana’?”

At this point, I get up close and personal with WALL-E only to find that the banana–that delicious, healthful banana– had been squished into every nook and cranny of this toy.  Every.  Last.   Nook.  And.  Cranny.

ME:  “Edgar, why did you squish banana all over WALL-E?”

EDGAR:  “To make a homemade lollipop.” 

Score one for Edgar!

img_9712

2 thoughts on “Lollipop, Lollipop

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

