It’s Not Easy Being Green–or Even Necessary

img_9570

A Shamrock with bloodshot eyes?  A charbroiled leprechaun?  Ah, St. Patrick’s Day . . . It means different things to different people. 

I can’t get a straight answer from Oscar as to why he chose this particular color combination for his most recent coloring pages; and I am equally at a loss as to why I am so tickled by his choice.  But at the end of the day what matters is that even if it simply was a matter of the green marker not being available, Oscar was able to work with the materials that were and was unfazed by, dare I say proud of, the results. 

We have never been a house that has insisted the boys color inside the lines, and we’ve certainly never said that something can only be this color or another–in artwork or in life.  And maybe that’s why I’m so pleased.  Things are not always black or white–or green, for that matter.  

And while I certainly know that my cheeky interpretations were not Oscar’s intent by any means, and that even though he knows a lot of words he does not yet know “bloodshot” or “charbroiled,” I want to believe that he has learned to be comfortable expressing himself as he sees fit.

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

