Sweet Berry Farm

This week Oscar’s preschool hosted a field trip to Sweet Berry Farm in Middletown, and Don and I have made the executive decision to return and put an unabashed dent in our grocery shopping–the offerings are that amazing. 

The purpose of the trip, however, was to select a pumpkin suitable for carving for a display in Newport on Saturday evening.  The carving can be anything as long as it relates to a subject the students are studying in school.  Oscar chose pirates and would very much like me to carve a pirate ship–complete with a Jolly Roger–into his pumpkin.  Ummm . .  the only problem is I’ve never carved a pumpkin in my life.  I’ve drawn on them, decorated with them, eaten them, and occasionally smashed them (accidentally, of course), but I have never carved one.  We got a pumpkin-carving kit and a stencil, and I am going to cross and try to retain my fingers as I hope for the best.  Stay tuned for the results!

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

