Alex P. Keaton

For those of you who remember Family Ties, you will recognize the reference immediately.  Alex P. Keaton, of course, was the Republican teenage son of two, by their own definition, hippie parents.  Alex P. Keaton loved Ronald Reagan and Wall Street and drove his liberal parents to distraction.  And while Don and I most assuredly would not characterize ourselves as “hippies,” there are probably some who would.  So, imagine our surprise the other night when our friend Janet paid us a visit and the following conversation ensued:

Oscar:  Janet, I’m more of a Republican than Edgar is.

Me:  Say that again, Oscar.  What did you just say?

Janet:  I think he just said he was a Republican.

Oscar:  That’s right.  I’m a Republican.

MeA scream that would be at home in the best B-movie horror flick.

Oscar:  Ha, ha, ha, ha, ha, ha!

Janet:  Well, Oscar, if you’re a Republican, who are you voting for in this election?

Oscar:  Well, if I’m a Republican, then I’m voting for John McCain.

MeAnother scream, this one more blood-curdling than the previous one.

Oscar:  Ha, ha, ha, ha, ha, ha, ha, ha, ha, ha!

Comparisons between Oscar and Alex P. Keaton have been made in the past.  Now that Oscar has revealed his purported political persuasion and posed for his first official school photo, I let you be the judge.

DISCLAIMER:  That night, when we put Oscar to bed, I asked, “Do you really plan to vote for John McCain?  He said, “Mommy, I’m not old enough to vote?”  I prodded in ostensible desperation, “But if you were?”  He said, and you could almost feel him patting me on the head as he replied, “Don’t worry, Mommy.  I’d vote for Obama.”

THANK YOU:  With much appreciation to Miss Terri, photographer extraordinaire, who captured the glint in Oscar’s eyes as well as his very “sophisiticated” side.  We are so grateful for your work!

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

