Carnivores, Omnivores, and Sharks on Vacation

After a three-hour nap, Oscar awoke to the need for milk and Teddy Grahams.  So, we sat at the table and talked about all sorts of things while we snacked.  The first topic of conversation pertained to the fact that Edgar’s swim shoe, which I endeavored to rinse off yesterday at the beach, was snatched from my hand by a strong current.  Oscar wondered if the sharks would try to eat Edgar’s shoe–and, being the superhero that he is, decided he would go out in a boat in search of it.  He then quickly came to the conclusion that this would be dangerous and would wait “until the sharks go on vacation” to retrieve his brother’s belonging.  He then asked about the details of one of his favorite subjects–dinosaurs.  “Mommy, was the T-Rex a carnivore?”  I replied, “Yes, I think so.  It ate meat.”  Then, a pause and the following:  “Wait, wait, wait, wait a minute!  If the T-rex ate the brontosaurus, and the brontosaurus ate plants, isn’t the T-Rex an omnivore because it’s eating the plants that were eaten by the brontosaurus?”  I’m going to guess it was . . . and I’m going to guess that I’m going to need a really good set of encyclopedias in the next day or two.  When Oscar embarks on a monologue–about dinosaurs, airplanes, trains, or his brother’s progress in becoming “a sophisticated gentleman”–one can’t help but smile and wonder, “How did this happen?”  and “What’s next?”  All I know is that I’ll keep talking–and listening–so I can find out. 

I would love to hear your thoughts . . .

